Ikolomani By-Election


The constituency has been a KANU stronghold since 1969 till 1997. In 2002, Bonny Khalwale clinched the position on a NARC ticket and retained the same in 2007 on a New Ford-Kenya ticket till nullification of the seat on Feb 18th   2011.


There are 35,434 registered voters in the constituency

The IIEC has already cleared three candidates for the by-election. The Ikolomani seat fell vacant after the High Court in Kakamega nullified Bonny Khalwale's 2007 election. The High Court in Kakamega nullified the seat on February 18  following a  petition by Shinali on grounds that there were irregularities in vote tallying.

Returning officer Benjamin Tarus stated IIEC had cleared three candidates to contest for the seat.

Three candidates contested for the Ikolomani by- election namely:

1. Bernard Shinali      - ODM (un-opposed nomination)

2. Bonny Khalwale     - New Ford- K

3. Collins Matemba   - Ford-K


Mr. Bonny Khalwale emerged the winner in the by election. a copy of the results can be obtained here >>


IED observed the By-election held on 23rd May 2011. A copy of the press statement issued by IED on issues observed during the Pre-election period can be obtained here >>


A copy of the final preliminary report is accessible through this link. Report >>


IED has also mapped all the polling centres in the Constituency and developed a map which is useful for effective planning during observation of the by election. See the Constituency Map here>>